paper diamond

(P) Vladimir Zaytsev

At last, the new Paper Diamond EP is in our virtual hands!  Last week Paper Diamond (born Alex Botwin) gave us unfortunate news that the EP wasn’t ready for its intended release, but instead the EP would be released after he made some finishing touches.  Well, the eleven track Paragon EP definitely benefited from the last minute fixes, because this entire release feels new and fresh, and it could possibly be Paper Diamond’s best release yet!

The EP opens with a short intro song that sets the dark and experimental tone for the entire release.  Next “All Goose” gives us our first introduction to the hard hitting bass-emphasized sounds of Paper Diamond.  Perhaps Paper Diamond’s tour with Excision rubbed off on the Boulder, CO native because I feel the sound on this EP is very refined.  The bass kicks in particular sound clear and deep.  A highlight on the EP, “Jus Like Clockwork” featuring vocals from Cherub serves as an excellent departure from the usual Paper Diamond you’ve heard before.  “Temple Run” featuring Buku and PaperHype (co-produced with Protohype) are also tracks that set the EP apart from what Paper Diamond has done in the past.  Whether you’re a long-time fan or just discovering our friend Paper Diamond, you’re going to love this EP if you enjoy a vast variety of bass music!

Full track listing-
1. Paragon Intro
2. All Goose
3. Paper Diamond & Christian Rich – XIX feat Angela McCluskey
4. Jus like Clockwork feat. Cherub
5. They Can’t Tell Me Nothing
6. Like a Summer Breeze
7. Temple Run feat. BUKU
8. In My Right Mind feat. Gavin Turek
9. Waste My Time feat. Jay Fresh
10. PaperHype (Co produced by Protohype)
11. Paragon Outro


Follow Paper Diamond on Facebook | Twitter | SoundCloud

About Amelia Waters