If you’re a Drake fan, he probably had you freaking out this morning when you woke up because not only did he announce the release date of his third LP, but he released FOUR (yes, you read that right) brand new tracks. Nothing Was the Same will be released on September 17th, and to be honest I have no idea what to expect out of it. Drake has leaked quite a few songs- some sound like So Far Gone (“On My Way”), some are obnoxiously catchy singles (“Started From the Bottom”), and others see Drake spitting harder than we’ve ever seen from him (“5AM in Toronto”). Until we have an official tracklist, we can’t be sure which songs will make the cut and which won’t, but for now we’re not complaining with the amount of free music Drake has been giving us.

The highlight of last night’s four releases is “The Motion,” featuring SBTRKT collaborator, Sampha. The track starts off as an R&B track with a minimal electronic beat, and the verses see him sing-rapping about an unrequited love over a constantly expanding beat. Then Sampha comes in around the 2:30 mark, and it makes you wonder why the two have yet to collaborate before, as the two singer’s voices harmonize perfectly together, and the outro of the song features glitched vocals that we are used to seeing in SBTRKT releases.

On top of this amazing single, Drake also released a freestyle with J. Cole, who is hot off Tuesday’s release of Born Sinner, and a feature on a track on Migos‘ newest mixtape that allows Drizzy to go full rap on the track. The final song is a collaboration with OVO’s newest artist, PARTYNEXTDOOR, who I admittedly just can’t get into. After the split between The Weeknd and Drake, it seems that Drake is looking for a replacement on his label for the trippy, gifted R&B singer, and they just don’t live up to the standards of the OVO label in my eyes.

About Colton

General Shenanigans. Follow me on Instagram https://instagram.com/thecolt