Some of electronic music’s most fearless talents, KOAN Sound and Asa, have teamed up to create a beautiful, genre-transcending EP entitled Sanctuary. The duo that make up KOAN Sound are Bristol-based boys Will Weeks and Jim Bastow. Their funk-infused sound mashes glitch-house, jazz, breakbeats, and crunchy basslines to create a new dimension of electronic music. Asa, another young Bristol producer, also features unique distinctions in his music, with ambient elements, haunting instrumentation, and subtle bass. Together, the team of producers (and friends) developed Sanctuary, a five-track EP that is to be released through OWSLA/Inspected on October 22nd. In the EP preview, one can get a sense that a lot of thought, time, effort, and creativity went into these songs. They are filled with lush instrumentation, tribal influences, skittering basslines, and layering of sounds. The mesh of Asa’s and KOAN Sound’s very separate music personas coalesce together flawlessly in the EP, most notably so in “This Time Around (feat. Koo)”. Asa’s gentle musicality works well with KOAN Sound’s understated but trademark glitchy-funk bassline, and Koo‘s vocals compliment the song beautifully. Even better, “Starlite” is fully available on Soundcloud – tune in! I am eagerly anticipating the full release of this EP, and after a listen, you will be too! Make sure you pre-order the EP while you’re at it!

Listen: Sanctuary EP Preview – KOAN Sound & Asa

1. Sanctuary
2. Starlite
3. This Time Around ft. Koo
4. Fuego
5. Tetsuo’s Redemption

Listen: “Starlite” – KOAN Sound & Asa


KOAN Sound on Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud

Asa on Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud

About Joe Burchard